Jointly with CBSO we present the entire works of Edgard Varèse

Monday 4 May 2020, 6pm
Town Hall, Birmingham, B3 5DQ

If Edgard Varèse’s mind-bending music sounded extraordinary in the 1920s, then it is just as stunning today. Dreaming of new sounds – of electronic music – a generation before it was technically possible, his coining of the term “organised sound” reflects his unique vision of “sound as living matter”, integrating a fluidity of electronics and instruments to emphasise the openness of musical space. With titles such as Intégrales, Ionisation, Hyperprism and Déserts speaking of an increasingly prevalent machine age, the reflexively ambitious composer’s use of new instruments and electronic resources led to his being known as the “Father of Electronic Music”, described by Henry Miller as “The stratospheric Colossus of Sound”.

Birmingham pre-concert conversation, 4.15pm
Pre-concert conversation with Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla and BCMG Artistic Director Stephan Meier, followed by a pre-concert performance by Creative Composing Lab participants.

NEXT Musicians Side-by-Side
Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla and Jaume Santonja Espinós Conductors

Edgard Varèse (1883–1965)       Intégrales (1923), 12′
                                                  Hyperprism (1923), 4′
                                                  Density 21.5 (1936), 4′
                                                  Ionisation (1931), 6′
                                                  Ecuatorial (1923), 12′
                                                  Octandre (1923), 7′
                                                  Déserts (1954), 23′