BCMG are delighted to announce two new Sound Investment commissions open for support. 

George Lewis

George Lewis is an American composer and trombonist, whose innovative work in electronic and computer music, computer-based multimedia installations, and notated and improvisative forms is documented on more than 150 recordings.

He is currently Edwin H. Case Professor of American Music at Columbia University, a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and a Corresponding Fellow of the British Academy, and has been granted numerous awards and honours. His work has been presented by orchestras and ensembles the world over, including the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, London Philharmonia Orchestra, Boston Modern Orchestra Project, London Sinfonietta, Spektral Quartet, Talea Ensemble, and others, with commissions from American Composers Orchestra, International Contemporary Ensemble, Harvestworks, Ensemble Either/Or, San Francisco Contemporary Music Players, Glasgow Improvisers Orchestra, and many others.

We are looking forward to learning more about this new work, commissioned in partnership with Das Neue Ensemble, with an anticipated premiere in early 2022.

Support George Lewis

Melinda Maxwell

Although known primarily as an oboist, Melinda Maxwell is also a composer. Indeed, BCMG gave the world premiere of her first Sound Investment commission, FRACTURES: Monk Unpacked in 2015 under the baton of the late Oliver Knussen. 

We're thrilled to be working again with Melinda for a new work exploring the space between composing and improvising, incorporating instruments from the ancient world.

Support Melinda Maxwell

We are able to commission so much new music with the help of our Sound Investors. 

If you'd like to be part of this community and help bring more new music into existence, your support can start from just £20. 

View all open Sound Investment commissions