Back to the Beginning

Ticket sales have now closed.


Download the programme here

Join us for a programme of works by British and Chinese composers including the world premiere of the latest in the Soliloquies & Dialogues series, by Ma Xiao-Qing performed by Colette Overdijk, the UK premiere of Jia Guoping's Ripples in Spacetime II, and works by British composers Julian Anderson, Sir Harrison Birtwistle, Charlotte Bray, John Woolrich and Oliver Knussen.

BCMG commissioned Ma Xiao-Qing to write for BCMG violinist Colette Overdijk after we met and worked with her on our 2019 tour to Beijing and Shanghai. As the world seemed to stop in March 2020, we commissioned a series of 'Soliloquies and Dialogues' - composers responding to lockdown from their perspectives across the world, writing for musicians in lockdown in the UK.

Since the UK is again in national lockdown, the concert will be performed and filmed at the CBSO Centre and streamed on our website. 

Jia Guoping (b.1963) Ripples in Spacetime II UK (2018, 12’) for clarinet, piano, violin, cello

Ma Xiao-Qing (b. 1996) Back to the Beginning WP SI (2020, 7‘) for solo violin. Part of Soliloquies and Dialogues

Oliver Knussen (1952 -2018) Eccentric Melody (1998, 3’) for solo cello

Julian Anderson (b. 1967) Capriccio (2017, 3’) for solo piano

Charlotte Bray (b.1982) Midnight Interludes (2010, 4’) for clarinet and cello

John Woolrich Watermark (2002, 10’) for violin and bass clarinet

Sir Harrison Birtwistle Roddy's Reel (2009, 7′) Bass Clarinet with audience participation


Mark O'Brien clarinet and bass clarinet
John Reid
Colette Overdijk
Ulrich Heinen

WPWorld Premiere
UKUK Premiere
SISound Investment Commission as part of Soliloquies and Dialogues - commissions composed in lockdown for BCMG musicians.


Booking for this event has now closed.