Celebrating Coventry-born composer Brian Ferneyhough's 75th birthday this year

Book tickets

Sunday 9 December 2018, 4pm
Royal Birmingham Conservatoire

Coventry-born Brian Ferneyhough celebrates his 75th birthday this year - and to celebrate we have invited his good friends and our colleagues, the Arditti Quartet, to perform his music here in the heart of the Midlands.

Ferneyhough’s music is renowned for its interwoven lines and it hums with activity - it’s sometimes called ‘complexity’ but this obscures its humanity. In Dum Transisset I-IV we hear the composer’s tribute to Christopher Tye, a sixteenth-century composer and organist; La Chute d’Icare conjours Icarus’s stunning achievement of flight, thwarted by his hubris; and Funérailles reflects on pianist and composer Franz Liszt’s work of the same name written over a century earlier.

In addition to works by Ferneyhough, we thought we’d celebrate more home-grown talent with works by Jonathan Harvey (born in Sutton Coldfield), Charlotte Bray (Royal Birmingham Conservatoire alumnus and former BCMG Apprentice Composer in Residence) and Michael Wolters (Deputy Head of Composition, Royal Birmingham Conservatoire).

Oliver Janes Solo Clarinet
Arditti Quartet
Emilio Pomarico Conductor

Brian Ferneyhough La Chute d’Icare (1988), 10′
Brian Ferneyhough Funérailles I & II (1969-1980), 23′
Jonathan Harvey (1939 - 2012) Scena (1992), 14′
Charlotte Bray (b. 1982) Beneath the Dawn Horizon (2008), 6
Michael Wolters (b. 1971) Trauerkonzert (2000), 8′


Royal Birmingham Conservatoire is an accessible venue - you can find access information for Royal Birmingham Conservatoire from the Royal Birmingham Conservatoire website by clicking here.

Wheelchair users are entitled to a complimentary companion seat.

Guide dogs are welcome at Royal Birmingham Conservatoire venues. If you wish to bring a Guide Dog or wheelchair, please let the Royal Birmingham Conservatoire Events Office know by calling 0121 331 5909.

If you have any queries about access, please contact Seb Huckle at BCMG on 0121 616 2619 or [email protected].

In partnership with Royal Birmingham Conservatoire


Student tickets are also available to book via Pulse Brum Book student tickets

Book a place

Ticket Quantity Price


Decrease Increase £15.00

Student (NUS/Student Card required)

Decrease Increase £5.00


Item Quantity Price

Optional donation

Decrease Increase £3.00