Sun 29th January 16:15

Symphony Hall Birmingham, Jennifer Blackwell Performance Space

Free to Sounds New ticket holders


Join BCMG NEXT for a performance to bring in the new year, featuring works by Benjamin Graves, Rebecca Saunders, Aileen Sweeney, Bethan Morgan Williams, and more. This concert is available to CBSO Sounds New ticket holders and takes place directly afterward, you may even recognise some faces who've worked with BCMG before!


Benjamin Graves Étude

Rebecca Saunders The Under-side of Green

Anton Webern Opus 11

György Ligeti Études

Aileen Sweeney The Wooden Web

Bethan Morgan Williams Enraptured

CBSO Sounds New

CBSO have asked 20 of the most exciting new voices to each write an entirely new piece of music just for them (and you). This can be on any theme or in any style they like, it just can’t be more than 4 minutes long. Commissioned as part of their centenary celebrations, CBSO are excited to introduce these brand-new pieces to the world - so come along and try something new, you might just be among the first to hear a modern masterpiece.

This concert is supported by The John Feeney Charitable Trust


Birmingham Contemporary Music Group and Royal Birmingham Conservatoire join forces yearly to offer a unique training programme for music students and professional musicians looking for a career as performers of contemporary music. As part of this, our talented early career musicians perform throughout the year along with our BCMG Musicians, come and support the next generation of musicians.

Read more about BCMG NEXT at

BCMG NEXT is supported by Foyle Foundation

Booking for this event has now closed.